70 opel kadett fastback
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Manta Ascona Kadett Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 70 opel kadett fastback

Opeler opel fastback is on a distinguished road opel fastback's Avatar
    Downloads
    Uploads

70 opel kadett fastback

i have a 70 opel kadette ls fastback. i just pulled the 1.1 as it was melted beyond belief. im looking to put in a 2.8 v6 out of a s-10 with the 5 speed. is this feasible? im new to this but i would like to put an engine that is reliable and cheap parts wise. is this engine swap a good idea? or am i barking up the wrong tree? thanks chris:banghead:
    Last edited by tekenaar; 11-24-2008 at 10:21 PM. Reason: title: kadette; feasable

2. Remove Advertisements
    OpelGT.com
    Advertisements

Opel Intern My location Redskinsjbs is on a distinguished road Redskinsjbs's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jay
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I'd say try to find a smaller engine. The kadett is not a very large car, so if you are going to be putting in a larger engine, it will require extensive modification to the body/frame. If I were you, I'd try to find a 1.9l opel engine. This would fit nicely, be reliable with a Weber and Pertronix, and would require no modifications (minor ones, if that) to the body of the car. Plus, it would be an opel engine in an Opel car, which is always nice.

If you are looking for more power, the 1.9 will give you more, but many have used larger blocks or bored out the 1.9 block (It can bored out a HUGE amount and still be safe) and given them longer strokes. This, combined with a 5 speed transmission should be just about everything you could ask for in such a small car without converting it into a race car.
    Last edited by tekenaar; 11-24-2008 at 10:24 PM. Reason: puuting; modifictions
    J Swift Sincerely

Flickr photos

Videos

"Friend with Benefits" My location heimue is on a distinguished road heimue's Avatar
    Downloads