Opel GT Forum banner

Independent rear suspension

10K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  sgum 
#1 ·
I'd like to replace my GT's rear suspension with an unequal length a-arm configuration, and presume that the mosy likely source for one of the right width is a sport compact car...

Any suggestions?

#3 ·
Not too many current offerings with RWD out there. Mazda RX7, Honda S2000, etc....most are expensive. Plan on some major rework of the floorpan, and a custom driveshaft too. You'll have to narrow the a-arms and halfshafts too, either that or widen the GT body, as it's quite narrow compared to the contemporary modern car.

Bob

#5 ·
IRS

I am no Mazda expert (as I am about to demonstrate), but would an RX-7 rear setup work? I see in my old (1978!) R&T magazine that the first Gen RX-7 was a live rear axle, but the second Gen (1986-91) had an IRS setup. The 3rd Gen also had an IRS, but who can afford THAT?

For some details on the 2nd Gen RX-7, look at
http://www.rx-7.org/2ndgen/specs2.htm
(Ah, the power of a Google search!). With a 56.7 inch rear track width, it's pretty wide compared to the GT at 50.6 inches. Maybe the half-shafts could be shortened up? I suspect that half-shaft mods would be the LEAST of the work for any IRS install. I can't imagine how much work it would take to modify a GT to accomodate the links and mounting points that would be required for an IRS graft.

If we're doing the "flashback" thing, what about an E-type Jag IRS? As I recall, that was all the rage back in the '70's when George Barris et al were building custom dream cars. Which a GT with IRS probably is. JMHO

#6 ·