Opel GT Forum banner

OEM Bosch L-Jetronic Running Rich

10K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  Gary 
#1 ·
Running Rich

Have a 75 manta 1900 with the bosch AFC fuel injection, I've changed the air mass sensor on it. I had an oil and decieded to order a new motor well after having it installed the thing just pours out black smoke as soon as you start it. I'm a lil lost with this particular FI system. Any help would be greatly apreciated. :)

#2 ·
I moved this to the Factory Fuel Injection Forum.

I am still a newbie on L-Jetronic tuning. But there are a number of experts on this site that should be able to help you out. And there are several excellent manuals out there as well. I would recommend the '75 Opel Factory Service Manual (which is a condensed version with just the '75 upgrades, to be used as a companion to the '74 FSM), a MotorBooks manual on "How to Tune & Modify Bosch Fuel Injection", a Carbooks Inc. book "Bosch Fuel Injection Systems, 1970 - 1977", and a Robert Bosch book "Workshop Manual, Opel L-Jetronic".

HTH

#3 ·
basic 101 on L-jet FI

the fuel injectors supply fuel to the motor instead of a Carb

but the FI system needs to know when and how much fuel to inject

they get the "when" from the RPM signal from the motor

they get the How much from the sensors

the AFM (air flow meter) or Flapper valve measures the amount of air then sends a voltage back to the ECU this is used to adj. how long the injectors stay open or how much fuel is delivered to the motor
the other sensors will modify the injector signal to give the motor more or less fuel

Now if you have black smoke coming out of the tail pipe you have way more fuel then air.

But before you start jacking with anything look for the easy fix first.

Make sure every thing is hooked up right.

like some Air is bypassed by the Auxiliary Air valve even when the motor is warm

Just give every thing a real close look and don't start adj. stuff until its the last resort.

HTH
Davegt27

#4 ·