How to remove bumper mounts on '74?
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By ubernoob51
  • 1 Post By slracer
  • 1 Post By B.R.
  • 2 Post By B.R.

Thread: How to remove bumper mounts on '74?

Opeler
    Downloads
    Uploads

How to remove bumper mounts on '74?

Hi, I'm a newb here. I am trying to swap out my big '74 bumpers for small early ones. I know how to unbolt the original bumpers from their mounts, but I'm not sure how to remove the whole round pipe (male) portion that spins around in the female tube.

It looks like maybe there are clips (on the ends) that hold them in? Do those have to be removed?

Has anyone tried to combine & use the original '74 mounts, to attach early small bumpers?

I won't be attempting this for a while, I just wanted to see how big of a job it might turn into first. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    OpelGT.com
    Advertisements

Southern Red Neck My location BQS4's Avatar
    Real Name
    Gene
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by B.R. View Post
    Hi, I'm a newb here. I am trying to swap out my big '74 bumpers for small early ones. I know how to unbolt the original bumpers from their mounts, but I'm not sure how to remove the whole round pipe (male) portion that spins around in the female tube.

It looks like maybe there are clips (on the ends) that hold them in? Do those have to be removed?

Has anyone tried to combine & use the original '74 mounts, to attach early small bumpers?

I won't be attempting this for a while, I just wanted to see how big of a job it might turn into first. Thanks.
    There have been several members here who have made the conversion, it's not really hard, the real problem is finding small bumpers, but, in answer to removal, yes you remove the clips and the bumpers come off
    "Yes, I do have a rifle rack in my Sportwagon"

Resident Whippersnapper ubernoob51's Avatar
    Real Name