![]() |
|
|||||||
| Opels in the Media Video clips, press releases, news about Opels |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Opeler
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo
Posts: 51
![]() |
Seen this before?
eBay Motors: Opel : GT (item 120151738130 end time Aug-22-07 06:07:33 PDT) |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Living in the past
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 1,372
Real Name: Lloyd
![]() |
GT Listing
That looks like a car that was on ebay several months ago and was in Virginia Beach, Va. May not be the same car but the background sure look the same as that listing. Seller has a 0 prior activity on ebay, maybe I was a policeman too long
but the check is not in the mail.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Opeler
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,794
![]() |
Yes, that one was on ebay about a year ago. Don't remember if it sold or not. It was discussed here. I remember we debated whether or not the rear end was hit as the bumpers seemed slanted in. Maybe a search will bring up the old thread.
__________________
"Being ignorant is not so much a shame, as being unwilling to learn." Benjamin Franklin |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
UngerDog
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 767
![]() |
It was listed on Ebay in Jan. Here's the link to the thread that was discussed here. And, yes, it must have been hit in the rear. And, yes, I would be leery about this auction. Jerry
http://www.opelgt.com/forums/general...tml#post114056 |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Opeler
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,794
![]() |
That's funny, I even started the thread. Odd, so it's the third time around since last summer as I'm pretty certain I saw it last summer, then again this past Jan. now again. That's very fishy. Seller has no history. It was Virginia once according to other thread, now Kansas, same pictures. Fishy.
__________________
"Being ignorant is not so much a shame, as being unwilling to learn." Benjamin Franklin |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
UngerDog
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 767
![]() |
Ya, and with payment by cashiers check (from either a US or Canadian bank) or money order
. That just raises more red flags. I would choose the cash in person option and go look at the car first. Note the seller states to contact him directly for any questions through his email (hotmail and other free email accounts are used by a lot of scammers). Note that seller has been registered on Ebay since Nov. 07 and no buys or sales. Fishy, yes. Sucker bait, maybe/probably. The way a lot of Ebay auto scammers work is by having a buyer or buyers contact them directly in which the scammer gets a wired deposit(s) for a photo of a car they have downloaded off the internet. It must be a lucrative scam because I've seen lots of them. Jerry
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
UngerDog
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 767
![]() |
Here is an example of an obvious scam currently on Ebay. Even though I know it's a fraud, I still want it.
eBay Motors: Ford : Mustang (item 260150133909 end time Aug-19-07 06:26:34 PDT) It should get pulled, so here is what it looks like. mustangscam.JPG Vehicle Description The Buy it now Price is 5900USD Shipping Included ! Please email me directly at : partzdecuc@yahoo.com before bidding ! |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Living in the past
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 1,372
Real Name: Lloyd
![]() |
ebay GT
Must have scared the rat off, the listing is no longer on ebay. Like "honest" Abe said, "you can fool some of the people some of the time, but you can't fool all of the people all the time". And you can't fool an Opel Nut any of the time
![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Opeler
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo
Posts: 51
![]() |
I sent a mail to the adress in the ad some days ago,and here's the reply I got...:
Comments? ![]() "Hi there, First of all, I must apologize for my reticence with selling my car. I love this car and it means a lot to me. I am forced by a bank loan to sell it. The loan does not involved him, but i need the money and i must do that. The real miles onboard, a great car ready to be yours. It has no accident or any engine problem. The final price is $2,500 with shipping for free(if necessary in the continental US),since my brother in law works at DAS,and he promised me that it will cost me nothing to ship it to you. I dont want to offend you by anything but if we are going to complete the sale we are going to use Ebay Purchase Program which will cover the purchases up to 20,000 USD. If you agree with my terms, i will need your name and address and i will contact ebay to inform them about our agreement and to start the program to protect us.If this is ok with you and you want me to explain how the process works,please email me and i will do that.Thank you and i will wait for your email. Richard" |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 412
![]() |
It has been removed from E-Bay
__________________
LIFE IS NOT A JOURNEY TO The GRAVE WITH THE INTENTION OF ARRIVING SAFELY IN A PRETTY AND WELL-PRESERVED BODY, BUT RATHER TO SKID IN BROADSIDE, THOROUGHLY USED UP, TOTALLY WORN OUT, AND LOUDLY PROCLAIMING... "WOW! WHAT A RIDE!" |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
Trouble Maker
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Snellville, Ga
Posts: 1,970
Real Name: Tony Holcomb
![]() |
Shipping for free is a dead give away. And I don't see any details regarding that car specifially. Also, if your selling a car to pay off a loan wouldn't you want the value of the car? You could payoff the loan and have some pocket money to buy another car of do whatever. Common sense would help anyone from getting taken on a "car" like this.
__________________
Needs a 2dr Ascona, everyone else has one. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) | |
|
1000 Post Club
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: League City Texas
Posts: 1,117
![]() |
__________________
Texas Opel Preservation Society |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
Living in the past
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 1,372
Real Name: Lloyd
![]() |
quote
P.T.may have used it too, but President Abe originated that quote during the persidental debate in the 1850's long before P.T. ever got into the circus business. check your history. By the way I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 (permalink) |
|
UngerDog
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 767
![]() |
Good points already made on why this appears to be a scam. I will include a couple others.
Note the strange use of words and terms in the email response. DAS must either be Dependable Auto Shippers or Department of Associated Scammers. There was never a buy-it-now option on the original listing which would have had the $20,000 Ebay fraud protection. And who the hell is Richard? Wasn't the sellers name on the listing Will Volkman? Just for giggles, you might want to email him back and say you will bring him cash and pick it up in Wichita. But, don't give out any info about yourself or Ebay account. There is a lot of hijacked Ebay accounts going around. Jerry |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
Opeler
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 252
![]() |
I like James Garner's version of this quotation. In his role in the "Maverick" TV series he was always quoting some sage piece of advice that his "ole pappy" had given him. When asked why he was a gambler, he replied "Like my ole pappy once told me, you can fool all of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time and them's damn good odds."
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|