Chasing vacuum leak, carb cleaner kills engine?
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Chasing vacuum leak, carb cleaner kills engine?

Opeler
    Real Name
    Matt Basura
    Downloads
    Uploads

I have been chasing a nasty vacuum leak for weeks in my 1969 GT 1.9L with Weber 32/36. I have done the usual stuff (replace manifold gasket, carb gasket, pull carb, rebuild carb, replace) but no luck solving it. Hopefully this is a new facet to an old question: when I spray carb cleaner it at carb base and intake manifold it will actually slow the engine if not outright stall it. I suppose this is essentially flooding the engine instead of making it race, but the end result is that it is indicating the same, major leaks everywhere.

Could carb cleaner stalling the engine be indicative of anything else, the reason I ask is that all my repairs seem to have yielded absolutely no progress on the leak. I am a hack mechanic, but still I thought I would see a little progress swapping out the old gaskets and rebuilding the carb.

Thanks in advance.

Matt

2. Remove Advertisements
    OpelGT.com
    Advertisements

Bikini Inspector Frozen Tundra GT's Avatar
    Real Name
    James
    Downloads
    Uploads
    check throttle shaft bushings, use a thick gasket with sealer. ditch the heat shield for this exercise.
    Manta Rallier, Vincent and mbasura like this.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Check the vacuum tee below the carb.
    Opel GTs are not GM products
    ̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶— ̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶ ̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶ ̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—̶̶̶̶̶̶̶—
    Humans are not an endangered species!