Greetings
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Greetings

Downloads
    Uploads

Greetings

Just after I graduated from Key West High School in 1972 my dad bought a used mint 1972 Opel GT, orange in color, and he has had it ever since. In '81 he and it moved to St. Petersberg - point being exposure to salt air. Being fairly well kept the body is in great shape with running gear showing only surface rust. The Atlanta area doesn't have a rust issue so hopefully I will get many more years of enjoyment out of it.

I also own a 1981 Red on Red Corvette 4-speed (purchased used in '82) with a 'few' modifications, also in excellent shape. However lack of interest and time leaves it covered in the garage. It will be reborn after our kids finish high school to the tune of a 427 big block.

But my pride and joy is a 1995 Impala SS that I have converted over to a T56 6-speed manual transmission. Regarding this car, my everyday driver, the best question is "what haven't you done to it"? I am a founding member of GaSSIT - Georgia Super Sport Impala Team - the Greater Atlanta Impala SS club featuring 94-96 Chevrolet B-body platforms and its siblings. 5.7 V8, rear wheel drive and the end of a legendary automobile. The other 427 of the two I will build will go into this car.

I also hold a seat on the Board of Directors of ISSCA, the Impala SS Club of America and represent the B-body owners of the southeastern US. This is the national Impala club.

The Opel: I just traded my dad for this car. He got a '67 VW. It's roadworthy and drives great, but hasn't seen a heavy foot since I last drove it in 1981. The bad news is I won't be able to get it up on jacks for a full inspection for another 2 months as a work assignment I'm about to start next week will prevent me from checking it out top to bottom, stem to stern.