New to the Opel Community in Pennsylvania
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: New to the Opel Community in Pennsylvania

Downloads
    Uploads

New to the Opel Community in Pennsylvania

Hi all, I just came across your website and I'm hoping that I can use it as a resource. I'm an engineer by trade - former mechanic, but will always be a car nut. I have several project cars including a pair of 60's Mustangs and a 90's Thunderbird. I don't actually own an Opel, but I have a yellow Opel GT hanging out with the Mustangs at my garage. The Opel belongs to a friend of mine; I am helping him restore it for his mom, who I believe bought the car new.

I believe the car is a 73 (don't remember off the top of my head) with a 1.9 liter. It runs and drives, but has a very bad rod knock - I believe the engine has probably spun a bearing. I am planning on removing the engine in a few weeks to determine what it needs to be rebuilt. I do have a Chilton manual for it, but was wondering if if you guys have any advice on rebuilding and where to get engine parts for the 1.9L. I have no previous Opel experience, but I have rebuilt a couple small block Ford V8s and have also done work on Honda and Nissan engines. One of the things I'm hoping to determine, is if it is possible or worthwhlie just to get a rebuilt engine for it.

I appreciate any advice / recommendations you can give me.

-Carlo

2. Remove Advertisements
    OpelGT.com
    Advertisements

Real Name
    Rick
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thumbs upWelcome

Hello Carlo:
    Welcome to the site. Some of the greatest people I've met are on this list,
    and will be more than willing to offer help and advice.