Newbie here
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Newbie here

Opeler
    Downloads
    Uploads

Newbie here

Hello All,

After a long search for a rust free car, I bought a '71 GT. Had it shipped from Carson City NV to Maryland. No cherry, but not a spec of rust anywhere. Still has green paint on the underbody. Seats rough, and cracked dash, but overal just what I needed.

Engine was damaged. Replacement engine and 4 speed trans are still in Carson City, btw. Got a deal on shipping, but carrier could not bring that stuff.

Plans are to build a stout street/strip car with a turbo'd 4 cylinder engine, T5 or Tremec 5 speed and so on. Aim is to end up with something that's tastefully done, with carpet, etc, that'll go mid to low 10s. I figure that I need 400 crank horse to do it. Will have frame rails, full cage, drag car style 4 link, narrowed 12 bolt rear with 10" rear rubber. Still looking at engine options. 2.3 Ford, 2.4 Dodge and 4G63 Mitsu are on my short list. I'm a metal worker by trade, so the fabrication end is not a big deal. No hurry to choose engine, as I must finish my current project first. It's an oddball: Twin turbo'd 511" Cadillac powered chevy pickup. Anyone wants to have a look at it, here's a link.

http://public.fotki.com/larouchedem/tttruck_project

Thanks.
    Dave

2. Remove Advertisements
    OpelGT.com
    Advertisements

Downloads
    Uploads
    to have to do all that to the body u would be better off getting a car that isnt mint on the body. no sense in ruining one of the few mint cars.
    Adam

Opeler
    Downloads
    Uploads
    spdkilz02,

Although the car is rust-free, it's far from mint. As I see it, I'm not ruining anything, as I hope to build something that all but an extremist purist type could appreciate. I hope that I didn't get off on the wrong foot here.
    Regards,
    Dave