Overheating solutions
OpelGT.com is the premier Opel GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thanks Thanks: †0
Likes Likes: †0
Dislikes Dislikes: †0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Overheating solutions

Real Name
    Mr DJ
    Downloads
    Uploads

Overheating solutions

I’m just an old school, multi generation Opel fan, & former street mechanic... I’m not a professional one like many of the experts here, however I do know a few time tested engine cooling remedies I’d like to share... If you have any overheating or gas boiling issues the absolute best anti freeze I’ve found unfortunately is the most expensive at about 20 bucks a gallon, but should always be bought full strength so you don’t pay five bucks or more for a half gallon of water when you can use your own... It’s a golden colored elixir engineered especially for hot running engines like Opel blocks & others... It’s called Prestone Dex Cool Extended Life for GM vehicles... That, & you should check your thermostat to make sure it’s not rusted from running too much water in the cooling system because running straight water will usually run hotter & tends to corrode a lot of interior components... Consider the option of a lower temperature thermostat, or in extreme cases of very hot environments (none at all) as a temporary solution to see if that’s your issue... It’ll cause much longer warm-ups & you don’t get that nice regulated temperature throughout the engine, but if you live in a very hot desert, it probably wouldn’t matter as much, as I’ve experienced several desert dwellers doing jus that... The factory heat sheild normally installed at the base of your stock Opel carburetor is a must to prevent gas boiling, along with sleeving any metallic gas line sections near the engine in slightly oversized rubber fuel line hose to insulate it... An (Oil Dam), which is a little round metallic sleeve that snugly fits inside the rear oil return port on your cylinder