Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My aunt who is now in her mid-70s is a hoarder and her home is full of stuff. And so is her garage. Underneath all of that stuff is a 1975 Ascona Sportwagon that she was driving until 1985 when she bumped into someone at a stop. The car seemed ok but she'd actually cracked the plastic cooling fan and it broke a few weeks later. Getting Opel parts was tough back then so she parked it in the garage....and it's been there ever since.

If I get it out from its grave of stuff on top of it and probably in it, getting it started would be good to try but I'm not really a mechanic....this would be my first shot at anything. Yes, I know I have to swap out the fuel, get a new battery, find the car keys (not sure about that one) and hope the engine isn't completely frozen. And it's an automatic. The single year of fuel injection makes it tricky.

But this group knows Opels. And my father (my aunt's brother) had a Kadett in the late 60s before he untimely passed away in 1969 so I have some more motivation to get this running. I remember driving with him in that Kadett when I was 3-4 years old.

·
Opeler
586 Posts
Good luck. I love (always have since they came out) the 1900 Sport wagon (Ascona). I had a friend in Colorado Springs who had one in the '80's. He drove it everywhere. It was that gold color, too.

·
Opel Rallier since 1977
1,929 Posts
If it has been in the garage all that time, it very likely is in great shape for rust. It sounds like is has great potential! Steps to take in rough order. (Some of this is simple mechnical thing stuff, and others are a little more involved but none are anything that someone with decent tool skills can't do. But it is not a few hours of work so you need a place to work on the car.)

Basic engine and cooling system: