Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This question isnt really about any body work but it includes it.....I was wondering about how long it would take to completely restore a 73 Opel GT...needs to be completely re-wired, a little body work by the back fender, most of the interior needs to be redone....I'm not expecting anything real precise, but even a vague prediction is welcome.....I'm predicting about a year and a half..since I'm a student and working part time so i don't have a lot of time to work on it...thanks

·
102 Posts
well ... well... well ...

How about you post some pictures of what it looks like right now?

I can tell you right now, depending on the existing condition of the car, your schedule + many other factors, it can take from months to many years!

I'm sure Gary,Keith and others can give you a more precise time frames, right guys ? :D

·
crazy opeler
558 Posts
there are three big factors,

1.Condition of the car (mainly how much rust does it have)

2.Money(if you spend money on new parts it can be done sooner)

3.Your ability

if you are new to restoring cars it will take you a lot longer, ie it may take you a year to do the body work where as someone with experience can do it in a matter of weeks. If you have the cash to buy new parts for the mechanics of the car you could assemble the car in a few days.

·
Super Moderator
5,996 Posts
The first time I "restored" my GT, I did it while it was my daily driver, and it took me about four months. Now, that was in 1978, I was 20 (!!) and in University, I lived at home (as in the same place as my parents) so I had lots of disposable income (or so it seems now), I was barely mechanically proficient and I had almost NO tools, and I only had a girlfriend or two to distract me. Oh, and the GT was only 7 years old with 60,000 miles.