Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am a newbie to this in every sense of the word...I am looking at possibly purchasing my first GT (1970) very soon. My question is this: I have gotten conflicting information on air conditioning in GTs. On one hand I was told that *NO* GT ever even had A/C as an option - on the other hand, it appears from some research that some did. I'm not versed on all of this well enought to know which end is up! :confused:

So, if anyone knows: Did any GTs come with A/C? For those that didn't (i.e. my '70 prospect) is it possible to have air installed and if so at what expense and pain in the a--?

I appreciate the input!!!!

·
Opeler
30 Posts
It's always possible to add ac, just depends on how much $$$ you want to shell out. I do believe that some GT's had ac as an option, but I'd have to check my books to be sure. Either way there are aftermarket options out there for the hot rodding crowd that are small enough to fit in a GT.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jay,

Thanks much for the answer. What would an aftermarket run me - ballpark, if you know? I have absolutely no idea whether it would be $300 or $3000 ... (clueless, yes I am thanks!)

·
Certified Opelholic
1,466 Posts
the best thing to do is to try to find a GT with a working AC in it already

2nd option is to buy a complete system from someone's GT
hard to do most times you just get some of the parts

3rd would be to have a custom AC system installed
a pretty tall order but could be done

one thing you can do is contact these guys in San Antonio

http://www.vintageair.com/

I bought an under dash unit from them years ago (95-96) with the idea of putting custom AC system in my GT

the smallest unit Vintage Air had did not fit i needed another 2 inches. even beating the fire wall with a big hammer did not work

maybe putting it under the passenger side kick panel would have worked