Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
239 Posts
Need Advice Driving Gt Xcountry (please)!!!

Changed the title so I could get someone to not only read this string, but give some much needed advice!!!

Still new to this site, but am beginning to get the hang of finding S---! out I want to know!!! Not bad for a 46 yr. old who is basically a self taught confuser user! Anyway here goes!

bought two Opel Gt's 2 yrs. ago neither has ever run since I got em! One has paper (1972) One doesn't (1970) couldn't sell them on ebay 2 times back to back, so what do I do: Buy one off the add board from this site of course!!!! I'm certifiably Opel insane at this point!!! Anyway, got an old friend in Houston I haven't seen since like 1989 and I call him & wie the money to drive and pay for this car if she seems good! We got the car 1972 Harvest Gold color (or pumkin) don't know what to call this butt ugly color the Opel came in!!! We have it in the shop for new Vbelts and R&R of the rear brake cylinders and will fly down and hopefully ( God Willing) drive here back 2,125 miles to California!!! She is a 1972 automatic, with Air/Cond. and a 1.9L engine.

Any advice from you fellow Opeler's out there as far as driving this gal 600-700 miles per. day after being stored for two yrs. & only started would be appreciated!!!
Getting the wheel cylinders sent from OGTS as we speak, going to have the fan belts replaced as it's in a shop as we speak! Also going to carry water ( have lived in the desert before) I have always admired this car from afar, saw my frist in 1969 when I was in 8th grade, never even ridden in the damn car yet!!! (I must be sick) Actually this is a way to satify my wife as the car was bought for her as it is an automatic (yeah right)! Anyway that's my story & I'm sticky too it!!! Regards, Rick

·
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
OK

I've had to re-post this as my last post got 47 views and NO replys!!!
And this forum wouldn't let me change the title!!!