Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering what specific issues you've noticed with purchasing opel gts. Also I've been struggling to find ones for sale near me for a reasonable price.

·
Premium Member
1,605 Posts
Sirsmiley9, the biggest thing is rust, that makes it way into hard to reach places. I am NOT an expert on the rust situation, but I am sure there are members that can give you the information you need. Most selling sites like Craigslist and Ebay tend to over price their cars. Not everyone, but enough to make thing difficult for a new person getting into Opels. Also, there are a lot of used parts available on Ebay, but most are way overpriced. You can probably get a new part from Opel GT Source for less than a used part on Ebay. That's not to say it is the case for all listings, but probably 95% of them. For example, a used speedometer on Ebay, I've seen for $80.00, at OGTS Gill will probably sell you one for under $10.

Hope this helps, and I am sure that other members will chime in on the areas to look for rust and the fair amount that should be paid for a GT.

Bob

·
Vendor
2,566 Posts
Finding the right car at the right price could take a while if you are unwilling to ship the vehicle.
Where are you located, and what is your budget?

·
Opel Key Master
5,001 Posts
Do not get too excited about a car for sale in a consignment dealership like Streetside Classics or Gateway Classics. These cars will look good in pictures, but usually have issues. And GTS come up for sale all the time, you don’t have to get in a rush, but when one pops up, be ready, cause if not...the good ones sell quick

·
Registered
1,698 Posts
Just wondering what specific issues you've noticed with purchasing opel gts. Also I've been struggling to find ones for sale near me for a reasonable price.