Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Resident Curmudgeon
1,489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Although I'm hardly an Opel newbie having owned them all the way back to the 60's (remember the 60's? If you do, you weren't really there!), I am new to Ascona ownership. The 1972 that I recently purchased has "good bones" but is going to need a lot to get it to where I want it. With that, a few questions for you all:

How do you go about replacing the rear light bulbs? The front ones have lenses with screws (and crusted in bulbs, but that's a different story), but the tail/turn signal/brake lights don't. I can see how to remove the whole housing if need be, but how do you get at the bulbs themselves?

Is the trunk supposed to have a light in it that lights up when it opens? It looks to me like there might be a spot for that, but none is there.

Speaking of the trunk, are there supposed to be little rubber "bumpers" for the trunk lid? If so, where can I get them and where do they go?

Are modern retractable seat belts available? OGTS has them for the GT, but not the Ascona.

Are there any tech tips for working on the bucket seat tilt mechanism? I found some for the GT (and I've done those in the past) but nothing for the Manta/Ascona mechanism. I have one seat that keeps collapsing to the rear, and the other than the latch release seems stuck.

Are there replacement rubber "bushings" or clips available for the rear wing windows? How are they installed?

Are there any decent seat covers out there for the rear seats? The front seats aren't too bad, but the rear ones could use some covers until I can get around to getting them recovered?

I'm sure that I'll have more questions as the restoration of "the beast" continues, but that should do for now. Thanks in advance for any advice you all may have, and if it's accompanied by pictures, that would be even better!

Mel

·
Super Moderator
14,289 Posts