Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not an experience mechanic, but I thought replacing the starter motor should be simple enough...

I was able to get the top bolt and bracket off that hold the starter out except for the bottom one. I was not able to get good access to it so I was using a socket wrench extender to get it from the other end. Once I backed the bolt out a bit the socket became wedged in and stuck. I finally got that back off and tried it from the bottom with a wrench, but with all of the lines in the way there was not much room to maneuver.

All of the books show the engine already out of the body. Surely that is not necessary.

Am I missing a tool or a technique?

Thanks,
Dave

'72 GT

·
OPEL-LESS!!!
2,116 Posts
try using the search feature, many people have had this same problem. a impact swivel is a handy tool to have along with a shallow well 17MM socket and a 8-10 inch extension. a impact swivel is a type of swivel that cannot bind, it is sort of a ball-socket setup and works great for things like these.

·
Registered
6,344 Posts
Try it this way, put the top bolt and bracket back on, loosen the bottom bolt so you can take it out with your fingers. With the weight of the starter on the bottom bolt it binds up and his hard to get out. With the weight of the starter on the top bolt it should be easier to remove the bottom bolt. HTH
Ron

·
Detritus Maximus
2,839 Posts
When dealing with the starter bolts, it can also help to pull the starter forward as you loosen the bolts. This prevents the socket, wrench, or bolt head from binding against the starter.

·
299 Posts
hey i dont have a pic but i modified a craftsmen 17 mm crome short socket to pull mine
i hoooked it up to my drill and put it to the grinder to make the top narrower and it worked great
and its still strong i use it everyday at work with an impact so it is a nice solution

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·