Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm trying to put my cylinder head back onto my engine and I can't seem to get the cam sprocket onto the camshaft. I can't seem to raise the sprocket high enough to slide onto the camshaft. I tried gently to use screwdriver but I was afraid if this is the wrong thing to do.

Is there a secret to this?

I've removed the head to investigate the timing chain and all seems correct. But then this is my first time. So I wouldn't know if something was amiss if it was right in front of me.

I was hoping to have my car running today. Please help.

TIA

· Super Moderator
15,258 Posts
Back off the spring-loaded hydraulic tensioner on the side of the timing cover. I imagine you did a lot of swearing trying to get that sucker in place while under tension!

Bob

433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
RallyBob said:
Back off the spring-loaded hydraulic tensioner on the side of the timing cover. I imagine you did a lot of swearing trying to get that sucker in place while under tension!

Bob
You got that right Bob...about the swearing. :) Thanks for the tip. Which side might the tensioner be on? Driver side or passenger side? And will I need a special tool to back this off?

Thanks again,

Manny

PS. Once the sprocket is back on the camshaft, will I need to tighten the tension?

· Super Moderator
15,258 Posts
gtzero said:
You got that right Bob...about the swearing. :) Thanks for the tip. Which side might the tensioner be on? Driver side or passenger side? And will I need a special tool to back this off?

Thanks again,

Manny
Passenger side, big socket....27mm!

· Super Moderator
15,258 Posts
gtzero said:
PS. Once the sprocket is back on the camshaft, will I need to tighten the tension?
Yes, just tighten it 'til it's tight. It's sealed under the head of the tensioner by a copper washer, so it needs some 'crush'.

Bob

· Registered
2,731 Posts