Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
257 Posts
Let me know if you need any help. I've been all over this Opel.
I'm not an expert but I know every bolt, nut and screw on this car.
I hope to have it back on the road in a few more months. Everything on this car I've done on my own. Body work, Painting, rebuilding engine, front end, rear end, so it takes me a little time
to get everything done.

Thanks,
Stanley

·
GT Resurrectionist
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just started takeing out the side and rear windows. striped out all the interior. and found that the floor boards under the seats are gone. The frame is good so I should be alright.

I do have a question. How did you mount the lenk stuff? I was wondering how to tie it into the body without it busting loose. so did you use alot of body filler?

·
257 Posts
I drilled hole w/ a countersink bit and use stainless steel screws
about every 8" to 10" then went back in between screw with
pop rivets. Then I use body filler to smooth everything out to look like all one body piece. All that my be overkill but I didnt want it to move at all. I also used a seam sealer between all fiberglass and metal. Again this maybe overkill but it satisfied me that it would not move.

I dont know how far away you are from Versailles, Ky but you are more than welcome to come by my place and see what your getting into. I can be in Tenn. in just a couple of hours from here.

See ya,
Stanley

·
GT Resurrectionist
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm about a hour from Whitley City Ky, down here in Lancing Tn. I'll be so busy on the car I don't think I'll have time to come up that way. I'm making floor boards for the GT right now. Plus I still have some work to do on the Impala. The cars take all my free time.:( But it will be worth it in the end.