Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
1450 Seeker...
613 Posts

I thought the Volvo motors were only good for big HP's with turbo's and a lot of custom intake and exhaust work.

Oh wait, that sounds like a CIH engine.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Now I love my opel and while I'm no expert I believe you can get way more out of a volvo engine with minimal work than any cih I've heard of. They also made a ton of factory turbos that can make lots of power. Check out www.turbobricks.com there are a bunch of cheapskate volvo owners pulling some impressive dyno numbers and a few that are making outrageous power. -Just a little rant about volvo redblocks. I love that manta too, It must be seriously fast with that light body and all that power, It looks like a volvo 16v head, with all of the other work on that engine I wouldn't be at all surprised if they are in the 400+ hp range with almost if not more torque. What do you all think of the shock/coilover towers sticking out of the hood?

·
Senior Contributor
540 Posts
if you ask me

if you ask me the manta was a nice car, but that manta was bad as*... just my 2 cnts

·
boomerang opeler
5,634 Posts
all the "ovlov" engines with turbo's are sorced from renault
so you can find a 1.4 ,2.0 straight 4,2.5 and 3.0 V6 all are easy to tune for more power and the 2 litre up can use the volvo boxes from the RWDcars, dont know what box the 1.4 would mount to but it is very small and gives very good power

·
Driver
987 Posts
sleeper said:
What do you all think of the shock/coilover towers sticking out of the hood?
I think it looks pretty silly, but hey, that is a race car, so whatever it takes. I watched the video's he has on the site, that car can fly! He has some nice burn out videos as well.

·
Oldpiler
216 Posts
Basically a semi-tube frame Manta body with everything Volvo underneath. Except for the Corvette brakes, of course! Pretty wild!