Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Just Some Dude in Jersey
15,890 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I removed my 2.2 FI intake manifold for the main purpose of substituting a spongier manifold gasket to stop a vacuum leak. I also wanted to inspect for "chroming ridges". I wasn't expecting to find what I saw.

Most of you would NEVER encounter what I found, unless you also decided to chrome everything in your engine compartment, like me. I have been sending stuff out to get chromed for 10 years and I never saw the problem of "chroming ridges". The first time I noticed it was a few months ago when I chromed the oem FI thermo housing. HUGE stalagtites of surplus chroming stuff had built up at the sharp corners of things. It was extremely hard to grind and file them down while trying to preserve overall flatness in a single plane. I guessed the reason, but I called the chromers to verify it. Yes, the chroming process tends to let the zinc/copper/chrome, when chroming aluminum, build up excessively at sharp corners. They told me that they normally grind/sand/file off a little bit of the aluminum near sharp corner before chroming to offset the chroming ridges problem. I can still see the patination marks from when the manifold was originally made, so it looks like they forgot to do that "relief sanding" before they chromed my manifold.