Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would they work on the GT? I was planning on mostly tracking the GT, but the idea of rallying it came to mind...but to effectively do that, I would think I'd need adjustable coilover's in the MacPherson design.

Could this be (relatively) easily done?

·
Super Moderator
13,688 Posts
If you're going to rally it, get a Manta or Ascona. The GT's suspension design, as well as ride height, would require a total rethink to make it effective. Heck, the GT's lower a-arms bend from pot-holes, rallying would simply tear them off the car!

Bob

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
well, the car is being given to me, so I haven't a choice, really.

Tarmac racer, it is! :)

oh, and back to the question anyway, is a coilover suspension possible, and worthwhile? I've no experience with leaf springs/shocks, and I tend to think they won't hold as well as the spring over strut design would.

·
371 Posts
would a mustang two front end work with the cross member
i think about doing this two mine better brakes better than a mono leaf spring yes no

·
Super Moderator
13,688 Posts
JGard18 said:
oh, and back to the question anyway, is a coilover suspension possible, and worthwhile? I've no experience with leaf springs/shocks, and I tend to think they won't hold as well as the spring over strut design would.
Anything is possible, given two parameters: Time and money.
Yes, you could do a coil-over suspension design for the GT. You essentially have to re-engineer the entire front end to do it. You *could* cobble together something using stock parts, but it wouldn't last under duress (racing). Okay for a show car though.