Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,

I've read the posts here and I've spoken with Roger Wilson. And I'm more confused now than if I had just read CHILTONS and did the damn adjustment.
Again, this is my first time doing a valve adjustment so bear with my ignorance.

Roger outlines the procedure thusly:

Because my engine hasn't been started for some time, he recommends to just make contact with the valve and the rocker.

Start engine and let the hydraulic lifters pump up.

Let the engine warm up and then shut the engine off.

Back off the nuts and redo the adjustment. Only this time, add an additional 1/4 turn after contact.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now CHILTONS and others on this site have said that all that's needed is to make contact (engine hot or cold) and add a full turn. Now I see quite a difference between a 1/4 turn and a full turn. To make matters worse, OGTS says they add a 3/4 turn.

***Also, are there any "pre-flight" check lists before re-starting my engine after replacing the head?

Thanks,

Manny

·
Registered
6,344 Posts
Manny, what Roger, OGTS and Chilton's are all suggesting is to "Pre-Load" the hydraulic tappets/lifters, or whatever you wish to call them. The whole idea is to make sure the internal piston is not topped out and eliminating any hydraulic cushion action as the fluid is forced out of the lifter by the action of the valve train. If that happens, it gets real noisy under the valve cover, and engine performance will suffer. To paraphrase a note out of the Toyota Supra maintenance manual, "noisy hydraulic lifters cause no damage to the engine, but are extremely annoying" So, when you "Pre-Load the lifters, do what you feel comfortable with, or go half way between the max and minimum, it won't hurt.