Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Opeler
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:confused: Please remember I'm a newbie so bear with me. Have a 69 and a 70 GT. 69 runs but with slight hesitation. Am starting on the 70. This supposedly ran when I purchased it. The plug wires are trahsed on it. Noticed the wires from the distributor on the 69 run to different cylinders than the 70. Have three manuals and can't find any help except the cylinder firing order. Need to know what distributor point goes to what cylinder. Photo of a correct 70 setup would be mondo appreciated!!

Also, there was a box of new Belden plug wires in the beast. They are IRS core. Factory are solid core. Any thoughts on switching?

·
Super Moderator
13,583 Posts
The firing order is 1-3-4-2, and on the distributor this will be in a clockwise direction of rotation. Number one cylinder on the distributor can be found by removing the distributor cap, and looking for a small notch on the edge or rim of the distributor top. When the rotor is pointed at this notch, #1 should be ready to fire. I say *should*, because a fair number of Opels have had the distributor installed 180 degrees off, and the wires may be hooked up opposite (inverted). The car will still run this way however.

Bob

·
Opeler
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You the Man

Thanks Ralleye. I figured it was something simple. Also, have you, (the Grand Poobah of Opel knowledge!!!) or anyone else canged from solid core (metal) to IRS (fabric) core plug wires? Any problems?

:D

·
Super Moderator
1,798 Posts
look again

It is almost impossible to even find solid core wires for any car anymore. If the wires have been replaced in the last 10 years or so they are probably already suppression wires, and they work just fine. Your radio will thank you.