Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Currently in Opel Detox.
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into the FI conversion on my GT and I've got the setup except for the fuel pump and the throttle setup.

Anyone want to steer me in the right direction ?

·
crazy opeler
558 Posts
I have an electric fuel pump that was used when my new GT was converted to dual sidedrafts, would that work for the FI?

·
Certified Opelholic
1,470 Posts
which FI setup do you have

1.9 or 2.0 the throttle set up is a little different for each

as for the fuel pump there are a few ways to go about this also

one is to cut the tank open and add a surge tank and fuel pump and return line

the other is to mount the stock pump some where on the car
and run a return line

Davegt74

·
Currently in Opel Detox.
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I actually have both the 2.0 and 1.9 setups, and I think I'll be doing both at the same time.

I'm planning on mounting the pump externally at the rear and runing return lines as I've got 2 '73 tanks to use.
Will most any external FI pumps work, or is it best to stick with a Bosch unit rather than try to raid the plentitude of the Japanese?
-Bret

·
Detritus Maximus
2,794 Posts
Whichever you choose, if you are not buying a brand new one, make sure it is VERY common and easy to find. A good deal on a used pump isn't such a good deal if yours goes out if they are hard to find and cost a fortune.

·
Certified Opelholic
1,470 Posts
The 2.0 FI is kind of easy to setup since OGTS sell the stuff for it

but once you see it you will say i could of did this

the 1.9 is a pain (it has such a large range of motion) unless you have the 75 valve cover

if you don't have the 75 valve cover you will need a bracket at about the same location (the passenger side of the valve cover)

its hard to describe

sounds like your right on with the fuel pump i mounted mine at the rear of the car

The stock 75 fuel pump was right near the left rear tire