Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
tl;dr: Is this Manta A worth getting with the current rust condition? I don't mind waiting a bit to start major work in the future.

Hello members of the forum, this is my first time posting even thou I've hovered around before. As stated in the title I'm getting an amazing deal on a 1972 Manta A, however there's a fair amount of rust on the vehicle, I haven't dealt with rust before and I don't mind learning, but I don't want to have to give up half way because of it. I'm getting the vehicle with some expected work needing to be done (I'll post the sale description below). I'll also post some photos below of the vehicle when I inspected it. While I don't have the budget to start working on anything besides getting it to drive and run right now, this is a vehicle I would want to hang on to for a long while, and I don't mind sitting on it a bit before starting work, but that just means its going to keep rusting meanwhile. I would love any advice or opinions on whether its worth getting or not. The current owner says he knows a guy with a lot of parts for them so that might aid a bit if I need body parts and I conveniently live within 30 minutes of them both.

This is under the front driver wheel well, its also visible front the
engine bay.

I have videos of the under carriage inspection which I can link in the comment. Thank you for taking the time to read this, please let me know if I can answer any questions.

·
Registered
1,695 Posts
Welcome to the world of old timer Opels! Where to begin, just looking at your pictures and videos...... well, for starters, this is a project, should you take it on, that will require you to become a welder, a fabricator of parts in sheet metal and steel. For starters.