Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Just Some Dude in Jersey
14,402 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I retired from the Post Office after 28 years at age 61.

This time I didn't prematurely retire out of despair over a friend's passing, a bacterial blood infection that made me crazy for a while, and not knowing all the facts about when they give me my pension, SS, and IRA money. This time it was all done legit and by the book.

I kept the pedal to the floor the whole way and didn't slack off. Today I had one of the most dreadful, horrible, problems to fix: A mysterious short circuit in miles of wiring and hundreds of devices and the problem could have been absolutely anywhere. I did not succeed, but I spent every one of those last 8 hours with my nose to the grindstone right to the end.

I loved what I did for a living and I had the most challenging and complicated machines to work on in the building. Even after 17 years on those machines I learned something new every week, which kept it interesting for me. My machine ranked nationally in the the top 25, out of 350, for the past 4 years.

I was one of the "10 percenters". The ten percent who do the work for the 90 percent who prefer to do nothing at all. I was known as Gordy the Guy Who Could Fix Anything. I feared no machine. Given enough information and parts, you could put the Space Shuttle in front of me and I'd take a crack at fixing it. Yes, I have failed. Yes, I have gone on wild goose chases following a completely wrong path. But, mostly I emerged victorious.

I'm scared schittless, financially, about retiring so early, but my right wrist has pretty bad arthritis and my eyesight is getting very poor for close up work. I've lived frugal and everything is paid for and a tenant takes care of the taxes and half the utilities, no wives or kids in my past, so I should be okay.