Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, this time I'm back with great news. A week ago a user that lives near me posted his 1973 GT for trade. I went to check it out and structurally its in amazing condition. The story of it is, a while back the original owner had brought it in the the shop due to it not starting, then abandoned it I'm guessing due to possible repair cost or some other reason? I'm not too certain on the full backstory of it but, I'm hoping its something simple that got overlooked at the time. I'm going back this weekend to work on it and try to get it to start and maybe run.

Does anyone know any issues that 73' GT's had that might have prevented them from starting ? Visually the engine bay seems to be in excellent condition. I'm also kindly asking for any recommended areas to check that might cause this issue and/or any diagnostics. I'm still quite new to the Opel word/community and I could definitely use some expert and experienced opinions along with the research I do to find out other information.Thank you very much! I look forward to hearing back from y'all and update you on the progress.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Lots of things, just like any other car. Spark, good fuel, compression. How long was it sitting?
I'm going to be draining the old fuel and adding some fresh one with some fuel additives, the sparks on there look relatively new with new cables too I'll post a photo below and for compression I'll be renting one from a local auto shop to test the fuel pressure and engine pressure. I'm not too certain how long it has been sitting but I could guess anywhere from 10-20 years.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If its been sitting for that long with fuel I wouldn't trust the fuel system at all. From tank to carb. You might hook up a temporary fuel supply to see if it will fire.