Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm intent on installing an LS1 into my recently aquired '73 GT and so have searched for detailed descriptions of another's successful frame modifications to withstand 350-600lb.ft. of torque in an Opel GT. I've found mentions of V8 conversions on the Net and in "The Blitz," but no specific info on frame strengthening; and I'm sure much more work will be required on the frame than engine/transmission mounting.
I'm not interested in drag racing; I'm aiming for a 0-60 time of around 3.5sec. for a car capable of competition, but used mostly for every-day, high-traction fun. And so, aside from suspension modification, I must determin the correct placement, thickness, and shape of sub-frames to minimize weight gain and provide necesarry strength.
I have no experience with frame work (though for automotive in general, I have restored -body-off- the Datsun 240Z I drive regularly), so I've bought these books: Chassis Engineering, Metal Working Handbook, and Race and Rally Car Sourcebook. I invite any informative comments you may like to make. I've got plenty of time till I'll have the time to begin cutting and welding, and won't do anything till I determine what should be done.

- Sean

·
Senior Contributor
903 Posts
This is a modification that hasn't been taken too kindly by the Opel community in the past. I think it all comes down to the number of GTs that have been hacked up with the intent to install a V8 but are never finished. People either give up after realizing the size of the task they have just undertaken or once they realize it just isn't going to be safe to drive.