Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I have been fascinated with Opel GTs since I saw a guy putting a wide body kit on one in his driveway while ridding my bike through my neighborhood, which, was a long time ago.
My hobby now is road track racing in my CMC Camaro but have always wanted to get a GT 4 banger race car.
I have a solid body in primer ready to start but I just can't settle on where to start.
Make it a stock vintage race car?
Gut it, put a Ecotech 4 cylinder and gut the suspension for something beefier?
I really wanted to put a whole new frame under but understand the car is a Unibody which makes that tougher.
Does anybody know of any articles or post that could give my some guidance to help decide?
I have no mechanical experience with a GT but I am a decent shade tree mechanic. I am willing to have professionals to do the critical work.
I've never seen one in my area on the track. My home track is VIR in Danville, VA.
I know its going to be expensive and a will never regain that money but it sounds like a good time.
Any advice, leads to articles would be appreciated.
Thanks Lee

·
Registered
2,115 Posts
check out Knorms gt for starters, He has his set up for racing, There are a few here that are of the racing breed as well as other opels

·
Super Moderator
14,293 Posts
Decide if you just want to play racer (track days), or actually race (sanctioned wheel-to-wheel racing).

Figure which sanctioning body you would run with (SCCA, NASA).

Figure what class you’d like to run with within that sanctioning body.

Look up the rules for the given class.

That is your starting point. You build to a set of rules…that includes safety, engine upgrades (or swaps if allowed), wheel/tire limits, etc.

I say all this because if you put an Ecotec into your GT and show up to an SCCA race, they have no place in their rules to let you run and be competitive.

·
Registered
2,115 Posts