Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to the world of opels. Through some trading about 2 years ago I aquired 2 GTs '69 & '70. Both are in rough shape. Only the '70 is drivable by any stretch of imagination. The '69 has the orriginal 1900 (stuck) and 4spd, correct wheels and center caps, interior is in sad shape, broken windsheild. Body is in reasonable shape (little visible rust) except for damage to rr quarter in front of rr tire. Since I don't have a tittle for the '69 it will be used for parts. The body of the '70 is in approx the same condition. At some point the engine/trans was replaced with a nissan Z 4 cyl/5spd. I believe it is from a mid '80s 2wd Nissan pickup. It uses 2 coils and has 2 plugs per cylinder. It seems to have plenty of power and fits reasonably well although the workmanship leaves much to be desired. Does anyone know of this engine being transplanted in a GT before or have any comments on the matter. I am somewhat inclined to use this combo (after propper instalation) because doing so would free up cash for other areas such as interior/paint/trim. I'm not fully commited to this engine/trans and would welcome constructive comments. I have found another GT in a local salvage yard that seems to have a nearly perfect body. The engine is dissasembled but has many new engine parts in the car. The owner believes that it also has a bad rear axle. He is asking $800 but I think he will take less. Of the three it looks to be the best to start a rebuild. Any thoughts about the price?
I have found the forums to be very informative and realy enjoy the orig vs mod, 4cyl vs 6cyl vs v8 debates. Thanks in advance for all your help,
David

·
452 Posts