Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help Me......

alright everyone, tyler needs help with his GT. so i broke all the pistons and valves and the water pump loose after being totally seized (see the end of the post "IT'S ALIVE" by husker) rusted, and i go to try to start her via the "pour gas in the carb and crank" method....but nothing happens, she just keeps cranking. is something up with my plugs, maybe? how do i tell if i have a decent spark or not? should i change the points and the plugs and all that...?? aaaah! i was all excited about getting it started and now it wont do ANYTHING. kinda annoyed. any feedback you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated

·
Senior Contributor
903 Posts
It's great that you were able to break the internals loose, but do you really think the cylinder walls are going to be OK after it having seized up with rust like that? My guess would be no, but I've never tried it before. You may want to run some compression tests before you invest too much time into this motor.

As for spark, remove one of your spark plugs and then re-attach the plug wire to it. Set the body of the plug against a good ground so that it won't fall off during cranking. You could use the block or head or part of the body. It should be paint free though as paint doesn't conduct electricity very well. Now crank the motor and look for a spark in the plug gap. An alternative is a little device that installs between the plug wire and the plug. It has a little light bulb in it that will illuminate when the plug fires. It's nice in that you don't have to remove the spark plug. They're usually only a few dollars at the local 'dollar/discount' store.

-Travis

·
OPEL-LESS!!!
2,116 Posts