Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Detritus Maximus
3,105 Posts
If I was determined to convert to LED, spending the extra would be worth it to not have the horrible looking LED headlight replacements out there. They don't look good in the modern cars either. Reminds me of The Fly...

Reactions: JudokaJohn

·
Registered
682 Posts
I've been running LED headlights for the last several years because they work better then anything else out there. I don't care what they look like because I don't have them open in the daytime and you can't see what they look like when they are on at night.

·
Opeler
3,143 Posts
Looks like old school headlights, but $199.95 each / on sale.
Check out their video on website.

Tableware Automotive lighting Grey Silver Font
Gold Amber Automotive lighting Lighting Font
Rectangle Font Wood Gadget Display device

·
Pedal Smasher
1973 Opel GT
2,805 Posts
I don’t think the price will come down. Holley priced it competitively compared to other options out there. I tried to come up with my own solution and it would cost $160. Just buying from someone like Dapper Lighting, their OE7 with the vintage lenses is $300.

Not all 7” round LED options are DOT approved and these were made with Morimoto which is the leading aftermarket company in LED headlights. Holley joined the game with the intent to be better than anything else you can buy, and $200 is reasonable for this. I’ve also never seen a classic white option, which I almost like more.

·
Opeler
3,143 Posts
Classis White headlights are 1550 LUX and Modern White are 1970 LUX. Stock Halogens are 490 LUX. Thinking that Classic White would not be too bright and provide less glare/ reflections in rain or fog than Modern White. Sorry no snow in the lowlands of San Diego. Maybe, there are too many freeways.
  • TECH SPECS (Note: Not sure of the different power ratings?)
  • INTENSITY: 32,000 candela (Low), 53,000 candela (High)
  • POWER: 20w (Low), 35w (High)