Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Super Moderator
14,180 Posts
Compression ratio looks to be in the realm of 11:1 or 11.5:1 or so. Certainly less than 12:1.

And actually, 180-200 psi…though much higher than stock, is not that high.

I suspect the cam choice and valve spring pressures have a lot to do with the difficulty cranking.

·
Super Moderator
14,180 Posts
I have no experience with the Jahn’s pistons, other than from other people telling me about them. Roger Wilson used to talk about them, since they made pistons for LOTS of oddball cars over the years.

My understanding is they used one basic casting design per engine type, then milled the domes down to the customer’s desired compression ratio.

As far as how I know the compression ratio is less than 15:1…short stroke engines are very difficult to get high compression out of. The 1.9 Opel is one of the worst engines to get compression out of.

Static compression is all about area at BDC compared to area at TDC, nothing else. Atmospheric pressure and cranking compression have nothing to do with it.

Here is a theoretical maximum dome for a racing 1.9. Yes, a lot of valve relief reduces the compression. But it is truly a max dome, made exactly .060” (1.5 mm) smaller than the actual chamber. It calculates to a true 11.8:1 compression ratio.
Gas Automotive wheel system Rim Circle Plastic

Nickel Gas Composite material Auto part Aluminium

Automotive lighting Gas Circle Auto part Rim

This piston is one of mine. It has a measured 11.3:1 compression ratio after I deburred it, added flame travel slots, and corrected the valve reliefs. It started at 11.5:1. Note the shallower valve reliefs than the all out racing piston design, and note the dome height.
Kitchen appliance Home appliance Cylinder Cookware and bakeware Gas

·
Super Moderator
14,180 Posts