Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Am I screwed???!!! I snapped the middle bolt on the driver side!

I'm thinking tapping the bolt is the way to extract it but I've never done this before. How difficult is it and what do I need? And what's the specs for a replacement bolt?

Or is there another option?

Maybe it's OK with the snapped bolt (asking hopefully but knowing there's no chance)?

Manny

·
Super Moderator
5,298 Posts
Snapped VC bolt . . .

gtzero said:
Hi All,

Am I screwed???!!! I snapped the middle bolt on the driver side!

I'm thinking tapping the bolt is the way to extract it but I've never done this before. How difficult is it and what do I need? And what's the specs for a replacement bolt?

Or is there another option?

Maybe it's OK with the snapped bolt (asking hopefully but knowing there's no chance)?

Manny
If you snapped it, you're probably "snugging" it up TOO MUCH!

That said, you'll have to remove the VC to do the work in any case. Once removed, determine whether or not there is enough of a stub sticking out of the rail to grab with visegrips and see if you can get it out that way. Else, you'll have to center-punch the stub, drill it and use an appropriately sized easy-out to remove it.

Drill bit/easy-out combos are available at any good hardware or auto parts store and are usually blister-packed so you have the right size drill bit for the job. This will be one of the smallest sets available . . . DON'T get one too large for the job!

·
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
tekenaar said:

That said, you'll have to remove the VC to do the work in any case. Once removed, determine whether or not there is enough of a stub sticking out of the rail to grab with visegrips and see if you can get it out that way. Else, you'll have to center-punch the stub, drill it and use an appropriately sized easy-out to remove it.