Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 175 Posts

·
Pathologic Opeler
1,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its my first try on a car...I have done spackle and a little dry wall...wish me luck!the guy at the auto paint store said"you cant make it worse".

I am going to start wet sanding 220 grit tomorrow am...this was what I did on christmas afternoon..it was a great gift to work on the GT.

let me know if I am doing something wrong.

Attachments

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
It looks like a good start to the minor repairs. I have to ask if that is a body filler that you are using. If it is your masking tape will be stuck down and need to be sanded off as well, at least what is under the filler. I have to say that is a good idea on how to get familiar with body work. Dive in and get the feedback from a bunch of people. Good luck, half the battle is usually just getting started.

·
Opel fan
357 Posts
body work

It's hard to see what damage you were starting out with. If you've never done body work before, you should get a book to get the basic prepwork (or do a web search) before you get too far along. It's not very complicated but too much detail to write it all down and it is very important to start out correctly. If that was paint cracking and peeling, if you put bondo on paint that is not sticking then your bondo will not stick very long to the body. It needs the best adhesion possible, usually I would use bondo on bare metal.

·
Pathologic Opeler
1,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
here is my instruction sheet.

1.polish car w 3m-5936 rubbing compound(fast cut)
2.polish car with 3m-5933 rubbing compound(fine cut)
3.scrape loose material
4.fill holes with glaze putty after sanding with 220 grit
5.sand smooth with 220 grit
6.wash car
7.prime 3-4 coats
8.sand with 400 grit
9.wash car /then wax grease remover
10.2 coats of paint..wait 15 min between coats
11.wait 1 hour
12.2 coats of clear.