Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm looking to buy my first Opel GT and thought this would be a good place to get advice. If these questions sound dumb please excuse me - I'm new to this!

I'm looking at an early 70's GT, automatic, supposedly fully restored. Can you guys give me any pointers as to what I should pay for a properly restored car? It's not meant to be a show winner, but looks to be in really good condition.

I'm writing from Ireland and I've never seen one here in the flesh. Can you tell me if there is any storage behind the seats? From the look of the car at the rear there's no trunk (or I may have missed it).

Also from a reliability point of view, would you say the GT is a fragile car by reputation? I'll regularly have to do runs of 30 miles round trip, maybe 4-5 times a week and was wondering if the car is better suited to being a weekend thing?

Also, is the automatic necessarily the right choice? I'm used to stick-shift and might find the auto a bit boring???? Lastly, I'm about 6'5''. Is the cabin small compared to other cars or do you think I'll fit ok?

Hope the above questions aren't too stupid, but not having seen one before I can't really answer for myself. If anyone out there want's to give me a some advice I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks guys,
Barry

·
Registered
1,088 Posts
Welcome to the Community

Nice to hear from the Green Island.

I would recommend first take a look thru some of the postings. I know everyone says it but there are some good discusions on the size of the GT and how much it will fit as well as the relyability.

First, you are correct the GT does not have a trunk (boot), however there is quit a large area behind the driver and passenger seats for storage as well as were the spare tire is located. Unless you have to move your house or you have kids there is enough space for luggage for 2 folks for a couple of weeks.