Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Über Genius
10,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Many years ago, when I was 20, I was looking for a job.

I went to a used car lot, named Pat Twyman's Used Cars, after seeing a help wanted ad in the newspaper.

The manager sort of blew me off the second I walked in the door but I followed him as he was just making noise about what he was looking for. His biggest grip was he wanted a mechanic, not a parts changer.

Back then I didn't know the difference and told him I was a mechanic. He challenged me and took me to the back row of the lot.

For those that don't know, the back row was where the cars, that nobody wanted, sat before they were ultimately sent off to the wrecking yard.

He pointed at a Ford LTD and said "if you can get it to run, I'll give you the job" and a few exchanges later I was working on the car. It took almost 15 minuted for me to get it to fire but I got it to run. Just barely, but it ran.
I walked back into the office and told the manager that I got it to run and he didn't believe me and wanted to see it for himself. So, of course we went out and I started it again.

Then I told him that it wasn't going to run for long because the timing chain has skipped a tooth and it was a matter of time before it jumped a second tooth and then it probably would be dead. He asked how long to fix it and I told him a few hours, plus parts, and he said it was a write off and not worth the money. Fair enough. But then I asked about the job and he reiterated he wanted a mechanic, and not a parts changer. I reminded him of the deal and he said I start tomorrow.

For $5 per hour, I was working in a small garage. When a car was in there it was 2 feet on either side and about 4 feet in the front. It had a wood work bench that looked like it was built by a 12 year old. And ZERO tools. I had to bring my own. All I had was a hodgepodge of CHEAP sockets, a Crescent wrench and a handful of wrenches scavenged from here and there.