Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
U-2 Driver
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
stock '72 GT exhast manifold

Just wondering, why can't I just cut off the top of the "stove" from my exhaust manifold and weld a piece of steel over the top? obviously I would have to contour it a bit, but other than that? I think it would be a little cheaper than a sprint. Anyone tried this?

·
Super Moderator
9,751 Posts
This is not mine, this was John Wargas (Canadian member) doing, and it's his manifold, I have a sprint manifold. But, yes, this is what this site is all about.:D

·
Opeler
30 Posts
sprint replica

I am in the middle of rebuilding my head on my 1.9 and while it is apart I was thinking of doing this to my exhaust manifold. I was also thinking of cutting out the web. Any thoughts on this or should I leave well enough alone?
Bob

·
1,175 Posts
I am no expert about this but it seems to me that the web on the exhaust manifold obviously adds strength to the part and acts like a heat sink. I would think that you would want to radiate heat away from the exhaust manifold as quickly as possible. You also don't want it getting any hotter around the carburetor than it already is. And you wouldn't want to risk the casting cracking as it heats up and cools. Leave it alone, I would think. Any rough spots in the cut would also form high stress areas and would be prone to starting a crack.

BDD

·
Super Moderator
5,298 Posts
BDD said:
I am no expert about this but it seems to me that the web on the exhaust manifold obviously adds strength to the part and acts like a heat sink. I would think that you would want to radiate heat away from the exhaust manifold as quickly as possible. You also don't want it getting any hotter around the carburetor than it already is. And you wouldn't want to risk the casting cracking as it heats up and cools. Leave it alone, I would think. Any rough spots in the cut would also form high stress areas and would be prone to starting a crack.

BDD