Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Build a dream and drive
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I wanted to start a build thread for my GT. It has been a long time since Ive done anything with my car and after building several rock crawlers, Harleys and home improvement projects my wife demands that I get busy on the car thats been collecting dust in the corner over the garage for almost a decade. I gladly obliged!
A little history of the car which I will refer to as Anna from here on out...
Her name is short for Annamarie who was my grandmother. Annamarie (my grandma) was raised on Maintz Germany as was my dad, aunt and uncle. She was a short, opinionated and rowdy kraut much like my car seems to be.
During my dad and his siblings upbringing someone in the immediate family owned an Opel. I have no other knowledge than that, other than they were believed to be good, reliable cars. My family moved to the states sometime during the Vietnam war. I believe my dad was around 7-9 years old.
My dad grew up in the late 60s and early 70s and his best friend owned a GT. My dad has fond memories riding around with his friend Bob in the "Baby vette" and cruising the streets of Stockton and Modesto picking up chicks. (Supposedly lol).
Sometime in the early 90s my dad had an itch to relive his glory days and set out to find a GT that he and I could work on and go to cruise nights and the like. As is often the case with these poor cars, 1 turned into 3 just to make a complete car. With the remaining 2, my dad hated the fact that they would be parted out or even worse crushed due to the lack of interest in the cars at the time so he donated 1 each to the local high schools for their auto shop classes. 1 went to the high school I would eventually attend and I got to work on it in class one of the years I took auto shop.