Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I’m a newbie to the Opel GT world. I just purchased my first GT. It’s an 71 and its body is in very good shape for a 35 yr old car. It as some electrical problems, which I am currently working on. I found a couple of major problems under the dash… The other own installed a stereo wrong and it melted a couple of wire badly. I don’t know why the car did not catch on fire. So, I took all the wires off the fuse box and rewired every thing again the right way and made every thing look neat and tidy under there, because it was a rats nest before.
My next project and current one is the headlamps…. They do not come on when I turn the buckets over. After reading a bit about the wiring problems which results with age, I resided to take a look and what another mist I found. The three wires were all designated and shorted out. I traced power to my Headlamp relay from the fuse box, but no power coming out of the relay to the headlamps. So I’m gusting the relay is blown. … Anyone have a relay they are will to sell me? I had to remove the three wires all the way back to the engine compartment and replace them with some good 12 guage wire. So that is were I am right now. I have to replace the headlamp buckets and lights. Take care Felix

·
Registered
6,344 Posts