Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks newbie here. Just bought a 72 automatic, and a bunch of parts. Runs, but no brakes, or lights. Will need help with interior parts, and tech info, so thanks in advance. I’ll post pics of it as soon as I figure out how.

·
Über Genius
9,801 Posts
Hi folks newbie here. Just bought a 72 automatic, and a bunch of parts. Runs, but no brakes, or lights. Will need help with interior parts, and tech info, so thanks in advance. I’ll post pics of it as soon as I figure out how.
You bought the one on Ebay, right?
Where do you live?

Reactions: Young Gt Lover

·
Über Genius
9,801 Posts
Welcome to the madness! It is possible by the way to convert your car to a manual trans.
If he does, I have dibs on his automagic. :cool:

·
Über Genius
9,801 Posts
I know where it "was".
It's white, has a red drivers seat but the rest of the interior is white. It runs but not drivable due to bad brakes and lights. We can tell you what to fix, how long it should take and even give you advice on where to get parts, whether new or used.
I was holding myself back from buying it. I'm in Portland.
Patting myself on the back, I'm one of few Opel GT experts in the PNW. I've been playing with them for a little over 40 years, as my moniker implies.
I asked where you are before I offered help. Gas isn't cheap so there's only so far I'm willing to go.

And, the transmission probably isn't bad. But if you want it rebuilt, there's nothing special about it. Any auto trans shop should be able to handle it.

·
Vendor
3,352 Posts
Welcome to the community, and congratulations on your purchase. If it is the same car in this thread, you got a great deal. Were you able to do a thorough inspection for rust yet? A good rust-free body is often the difference between a restorable GT and a parts car. Post some more pics and let us know what you have in mind for the car.
Cheers,
Ron in FL

·
Opeler
739 Posts