Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance but...
I pick up two GT's. one running, one junk for parts. The running one has some electrical issues-headlights, brake lights- also the dash looks like a topographical map. Anyway I decide to proceed by working on both problems at once. I remove a good dash from the parts car-both are 71GT's by the way- and remove a junk dash from the running car. Now i can get to all the wiring and trace out the problems. Right??!! Now I have no power to anything except the solenoid. The ignition switch acts as if it's not there. Turning is does nothing. I can find no hot wires under the dash. I can short the solenoid with a screwdriver and get it to turn the motor, but beyond that I'm stuck! This has had some hack chopping and splicing wires before I got it so it doesn't follow the wiring diagram perfectly. Any ideas? I see posts about fusable links-Where are they? Could I have fried my ignition switch? The battery is new and I can jumper from the pos. terminal to lights etc and get power that way so my ground appears good.....

I'm just plain stuck!

Thanks for any help

Keith

·
Registered
521 Posts
Start working your way from the battery into the car. Follow the wires from the battery to the starter and into the car until you lose power. The 4 center terminals on the fusebox would be a good place to start in the car once you get there (or trace them back to thru the firewall. One side should always be hot from the battery. That's what I would do first. Where are you located? Maybe someone nearby can help.

~kyle

·
70's Opeler, back 4 more!
398 Posts
Kyle,

Along these lines, do you know anybody who is building wire harnesses for GT's?

Chris

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·