Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here I am ready to get into this Opel GT's world =S

I am closing a deal on a 1969 Opel GT 1900. At the moment I can't visit the car and there is a chance of closing the deal in these terms (I am not an expert anyway and the car is not in my homeland). The owner reports no rust and a fully functional car, no oil leaks, headlights working good and so on. I have dozens of photos and I will have more soon, including some videos.

What I know about the car:

• Opel GT-AL 1900
  • Original color = red / "recently" painted in white
  • General good shape, some dents and scratches
  • No rust reported by the owner
  • Steering wheel is not OEM (some other model from Opel).
  • Rear fuel cap with missing cover
  • Electric ignition upgrade done
  • Fenders are not chrome anymore and wing mirrors are not original either.
  • mechanically speaking I don't know a lot, the engine bay looks ok, a little messy but hopefully good to run! Is the carburetor there? =)
I post some photos for you all to take a look and tell me honestly if you consider a good condition of a car to start without a lot of investment ahead.
I understand that things can be hiding under this paint job and also in the under-body (photos soon).

Thanks in advance,
Cato

·
Opel Key Master
4,881 Posts
At minimum you have a wiring harness to build or order for it, the headlight relay is in the engine bay, maybe the owner has had regulator issues, notice it is taped over. Also depends on if you are going to restore it, engine bay has been the typical blacked out. But probably a decent driver. You didn't mention the price you are looking to pay. I would say @ $5000 or under if it is solid. I assume its in an European country with no markers and wheels and the driving lights

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your answer. When you mention wiring harness is the headlight relay one? Do you recon it's a must do?