Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Opel Tinkerer and Rescuer
7,700 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off if you were not aware, my day job is to draft and layout ductwork for a Mechanical Contractor. Our ductwork goes straight from my AutoCAD to a plasma table where the items are cut out and formed.

What this has to do with Opels is simple. Some of the most requested items for the Manta are battery boxes, firewall patches (which are not reproduced), jackpoints, rear wheel patches, etc.

I don't have any in stock right now and was looking at the prices from Europe. Then a brain surge hit me.. They may not look as good as the German pieces, but our sheetmetal shop could probably do anything flat and with easy radius bends. I could probably produce most the battery box repair sections, jackpoints, and create a firewall patch as well (Probably incorporated into the battery box). We are talking about parts for the most part are hidden anyway.

So how many are interested in sheet metal repair sections for the Manta/Ascona/1900 if the prices were say 1/4 of my current list prices? It would req uire you primering the parts yourself, etc.. But considering I could do a battery box for about $40 with the firewall section, verse the current $199 I think that would be alright for most.

Charles

·
Opel Addict Since 73
358 Posts
Count me in!!!

Count me in!!! I could use the firewall section RIGHT NOW!!! As a matter of fact...I've already begun fabricating my own patchwork for the firewall on my latest project Ascona. Charles...if you think this might be something do-able in the not-too-distant future...I might consider holding off on my custom patchwork. What's your projected time frame??? -Scott

·
Super Moderator
6,365 Posts
Charles (a I just replied via e-mail),