Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
I just picked up a 73 OPEL GT. so i'm really new in this opel tuning up thing. the bottom end on this opel is F*ked! so my first assignment of restoring the car is make it run. me and my best friend were debating on what to do. we trying to see what are our alternatives.

option 1 : we are thinking of rebuilding the whole engine with all racing internals ?

or

option 2 :Engine swap.. what are some of more popular engine swap on these opel gts ?

option 3 : we want a 5-speed transmission, if not too hard to swap.

WE ARE GOING TO TURBO it FOR SURE. just dont know which way to go ?

the person we brought it from said Buick 3.8 turbo is the best way and the fairly easy way to make it FAST. True ?

if any opel gt expert can give us their opinion or advise we'll thank you ALOT

thanks

·
Administrator
10,230 Posts
Welcome to the world of Opels! I removed your duplicate posts. One thread is usually enough to get your answer.

Check out the engine swap forum and the performance forums. There is a lot of info on turbos and engine swaps there. This site has a powerful search engine that will pick out your keywords from the 55,000 posts on our server.

·
Super Moderator
5,922 Posts
Welcome from the OGT.com Moderating Team. As Gary has mentioned, we really discourage duplicate threads. We also STRONGLY encourage that questions be SEARCHED for relevant threads before a new thread is started.

And when a question is kind of general, or has a time-limit (such as an article for sale on eBay), or doesn't really fit in one of the Forum headings, or has several questions in one post, we prefer that it be posted in the "Open Discussions" Forum (which is where I moved this thread unless it heads in a specific direction). This is a "catch all" Forum, and allows the Technical Forums to be reserved for specific topics, for less congestion during later searches.