Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
CDN OpelNut had a great idea. Tales of road-side repairs and the fascinating ways we've accomplished those repairs and with what.
One of mine was actually my old VW bug. Accelerator went to the floor one day on the highway. Pulled over and found the accelerator cable had broken. My boyfriend at the time was absolutely helpless. Luckily, I wasn't and reattached it with a convenient twist-tie found in the car and made it home 'revving' all the way on the shortened cable.
He was so impressed. :D

·
Senior Contributor
730 Posts
Ok, I'll put mine in from the same thread. Way back when I was a young driver (71), I was driving one of my old fav's, a 60 Falcon. When the carb rod fell off due to clip removing gremlins, I tied a string on to the pedal rod and then to the throttle. Since I always used a return spring to make the throttle "pull" back on the pedal (don't ask why :rolleyes: ), it was good for the trip home. Simplicity IS a virtue! :p

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
my favorite road side repair was to a Manta clutch cable. It had split in or near the middle and I was on a pretty isolated road, the only thing around were telephone poles. I "borrowed" a ground wire clamp from a pole type transformer that was near the ground and found one of those ceramic old wire insulators in the weeds. I cut back the clutch cable and found the brake, used the ground clamp to tie them back together. I used the insulater tied to the radiator support to act as a fulcrom for the now cut and patched cable. a pretty soft and spongy clutch but I drove it that way for about a week while I got another one. Lucky I had tools like wire cutters, crescent wrenches and a pocket knife about me.

·
Non Civilian
2,102 Posts