Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Roughly how much would it cost to put a steinmetz kit on an opel gt? Also, How does an Opel drive? Are they quick? Can they handle turns? What is normally their worst problem? Im a college student never drove an opel gt...but im thinking about buying one...so any info I should know about Opels? Thanks

·
Registered
125 Posts
Well, being in a similar boat to you until 2 days ago when my first GT got here, let me say as far as speed goes: do NOT expect a stock GT to drive/accelerate like a modern sports car or a similar vintage vette. It certainly will not lay down like a similar vintage american heavy metal car (camero, charger, etc etc). They have pretty low hp (from what I've been told expect most to run around 65-70 ish). They *are* light so that helps, but you are not gonna win any street races without serious modification. Thats just my two cents worth. :)

·
257 Posts
Just remember that these cars are 30+ years old. If you can find one already restored(engine, suspension, etc..)they drive like a dream and handle like a new car, but even with a total restored Opel they ALWAYS need a little TLC......

As far as the body kit, mine cost me around $1000 and I put it on myself. I dont know what a body shop would have charged me.
Look at Stanley's 69 Restoration in the Photo Gallery.

Stanley

·
Registered
141 Posts
Fabio-

A good stock Opel GT will accelerate at the same rate as a Ford Taurus. Period road tests indicated a quarter-mile time of 17.7 seconds - don't recall the trap speed off the top of my head. 0-60 times are in the 11 second range for manual, 13+ seconds for an automatic. If you're used to driving a Chevy Cavalier, a GT will feel pretty sparky; if you drive a Lexus as your primary car (nod to kristi here) the GT will feel kinda slow.