Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bazaar Engine Swap Question?

I hope my question isn't too taboo here. Being a newbie here and all I'd hate to offend on my first post. I've been researching Opels (specifically the GT) for a few months now and see it as a viable project for unique quick little car. This will be my first true restoration of an older car. If I stick with an Opel engine I'm sure it will be a 2.0 16V, but having an extensive background in building Hondas I keep wanting to go the route of a Honda S2000 (2.0 16V VTEC) engine. Small, lightweight, tons of aftermarket support, 240hp w/reliable 9,000rpm redline, bolted to a slick 6 speed right from the factory seems to good to be true for a match with the GT. Has anyone here ever heard of such an assanine idea, or am I the first? Complete swaps (complete engine, tranny, driveshaft, sometimes rear end/axles, computer, etc) can be had for less than $4k typically which is pretty good for a low mile complete setup with all the latest in technology. The problem is I don't have the car in front of me for a reference. How adaptable is it, or do I need to redesign the whole front half of the car to take it? I see there are quite a few typical swap options that people choose, but I'd like to be a bit different. Am I stomping on sacred ground here? Opinions please?

·
Registered
200 Posts
Considerations would be:

Length of engine/tranny -- should be fine since the S is small too
Shifter position -- should also be ok I'm sure it is on linkages and mounted to the car rather than tail of tranny
Height of motor -- will probably be fine, but note the GT has a special valve cover to clear the hood.
Physical size should be fine since it is 4cyl, may have to adjust for exhaust and intake if they come out too far