Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a few hours away from finishing sanding down my 73 GT. I would like to paint it an electric blue with a single white stripe. I have seen a lot of GTs with dual stripes or one big stripe down the middle. I would like to off-set the stripe up the right side of the car and over the hump on the hood. My question is, did any GT come with this type of stripe? If so which side was the stripe located?

Sorry I am new to the history of Opels, but eager to learn.

·
Old Opeler
5,564 Posts
Factory paint jobs on road going GTs were all one solid colour without stripes.
However Rally teams often altered the paint scheme on an individual basis - if you put "Opel GT" into you search engine on the web there will be all sorts of stuff come to light. Also have a search through the picture galleries on this site. In basic terms - it's your car, paint it how you want it to look!

Try cutting some strips out of white paper and laying them on the car so you can get some idea of the effect. easy to move around and cut to different sizes - you can even post some pictures here for our critical appraisal! ;)

·
Registered
2,894 Posts
How about this stripe? Was it original or added on? Jarrell

Attachments

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
if my memory is right that one was a dealer installed option. I also remember it for sale from either mantapart or C & R for a short time. That would be a nice one to see reproduced.

·
Registered
2,894 Posts
Yeah, I liked the way it looked and haven't seen another one like it. 69 Gt. Shame it's on a junker. It was hit in the rear. Picked it up with a red Gt in 1989. My red one is still under "restoration". Jarrell

·
Super Moderator
9,749 Posts
GT stripes